COVID-19: New Visitation Guidelines. Click here for what to expect at ChristianaCare during COVID-19.


COVID-19: New Visitation Guidelines. Click here for what to expect at ChristianaCare during COVID-19.

For Health Professionals

Emergency Medicine Research

The Department of Emergency Medicine practices an integrated approach of research and clinical care which creates a critical pathway to better patient care both in and out of the hospital. Our Mission is to foster a research environment which reflects our commitment to creating innovative, affordable systems of care, ultimately improving patient health and their healthcare experience.

Currently, the department is participating in over 60 different research projects, which include several multicenter clinical trials and investigator-initiated studies. The Department of Emergency Medicine routinely collaborates with iREACH, the Virtual Education and Simulation Technologies (VEST) Center, Trauma/Surgical Critical Care, Cardiology, Department of Medicine, and the Department of Family Medicine. We are also an active site for the research network Neurological Emergencies Treatment Trials (NETT).

Key areas of interest include:

  • EMS
  • Emergency Ultrasound
  • Sepsis
  • Stroke
  • Operational
  • Medical Student and Resident Education

Clinical Investigators

Under the leadership of Dr. John Powell Department of Emergency Medicine Chair, Dr. Jenna Fredette, Emergency Medicine Residency Program Director and Dr. Jason Nomura, Director of Emergency Medicine Research, our Academic Faculty serve as principal investigators and advisors to the residents while working on both departmental research and multi-center trials. Residents have the opportunity to participate in cutting edge science while being mentored by an experienced physician investigator. Our faculty and residents are often selected to present their completed research projects at national forums such as Society of Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) and American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP).

Designated Academic Faculty:

  • Dr. Jeremy Berberian
  • Dr. Julie Cooper
  • Dr. Jenna Fredette
  • Dr. Leila Getto
  • Dr. Michael Hansen
  • Dr. Robert Hsu
  • Dr. Stephen Koczirka
  • Dr. Patrick Matthews
  • Dr. Jonathan McGhee
  • Dr. Jason Nomura
  • Dr. Amit Padaki
  • Dr. Brent Passarello
  • Dr. Justin Stowens
  • Dr. Gregory Wanner
  • Dr. Erin Watson
  • Dr. Eli Zeserson

Research efforts are supported by administrative staff and certified clinical research nurse coordinators. For more information, contact Barbara Debbage, RN, BSN, CCRC, Emergency Medicine Research Manager at 302-733-4198 or